Chocolate Cupcakes and Nut Allergies

In an effort to clear up space in my freezer while also making some tasty treats for some friends we were having over for dinner this week, I pulled out the last of some ground almonds we brought back from G Detou, Paris and some clementine buttercream icing from the freezer.  In my head, I thought, ‘perfect, I can make clementine almond cupcakes and then ice them with the leftover icing’.  Unfortunately this would have turned me into a killer chef as one of our group has a pretty serious nut allergy.  There have been several ‘close calls’ where I have started to research a recipe only to have it dawn on me that, no, that would be a bad idea as we’d like to keep our friends happy and healthy when they come to dinner.

In the end, I did make the clementine almond cupcakes but I also made these chocolate cupcakes and iced them with the clementine buttercream icing.  I got to free up some freezer space AND got two desserts from the experience.  An all around win.  Oh, and my friend suffered no ill consequences from the chocolate and clementine combo 🙂

This recipe is adapted from Ina Garten’s “Beatty’s Chocolate Cake” recipe.  I used plain greek yoghurt instead of buttermilk, and, as I only wanted 18 cupcakes, I halved the recipe.

Chocolate Cupcakes with Clementine Buttercream Frosting

Chocolate Cupcakes with Clementine Buttercream Frosting

Chocolate Cupcakes (makes approximately 18) – based on Ina Garten’s Beatty’s Chocolate Cake

2/3 c all purpose flour
1 c sugar
1/3 c cocoa
1 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp baking powder
1/2 c greek yogurt
1/4 c olive oil
1 egg
1 tsp vanilla
1/2 c fresh brewed coffee (hot)

clementine icing 

Sift together dry ingredients.  Beat together the yogurt, olive oil, egg, and vanilla (but not the coffee) on medium speed until well combined.  Combine wet mixture and dry ingredients on low. With the mixer still on low, add the coffee and stir until just combined.  Carefully spoon or pour the mixture into cupcake papers in a muffin tin.  Bake for approximately 20 minutes at 350F.  Cool in the tin for 5 minutes, then allow to cool completely on a cooling rack.  Ice once completely cooled.

Leave a Reply

