Basic Risotto

A strange hybrid of Jamie Oliver and Mark Bittman, this risotto came about courtesy of a random dried mushroom purchase in Paris last Spring.  I may have promised mr416expat I’d make him a mushroom risotto…and now this winter I have made good on my promise.  This risotto recipe came about through watching an episode of Jamie’s 30 Minute Meals online and through flipping through Mark Bittman’s app ‘How to Cook Everything’.  I like to think I took a little bit from both recipes.  The wine and stock suggestion from Jamie and the mushroom business from Mark Bittman.  I fully acknowledge this is not a hard core risotto fan’s risotto.  This is my go-to-work night-need food asap risotto.  See for yourself:

Many good things start with melted butter

Onions...could be chopped more finely, but it was a weeknight and I was in a rush

Rice not yet glossy, keep cooking

The cheat - not a bouillon cube, but close enough

On sale for 5GBP - a very easy drink..I mean helpful wine for risotto

Cooking down, adding water, cooking down repeat

Add much cheese..note, my risotto probably could've stood to have cooked down further, but I was hungry

Basic Risotto – adapted from Jamie Oliver and Mark Bittman recipes

3 tbsp butter
1 medium onion, finely chopped
300 g Arborio (risotto) rice
1/2 c white wine
1 bouillon cube – this is my cheat – regular recipes call for stock (approximately 1L)
1L boiling water
1/2 c grated parmesan

Put on your kettle and boil some water.  You’ll need the boiling water later.  In a high sided, heavy pot, melt the butter over medium-high heat.  Add the chopped onion and stir, cooking until onion is softening.  Add the rice to the butter and onion mixture and stir occasionally until it is glossy (2-4 minutes).  Season with salt and pepper.  Add the white wine.  I usually add about a glass full.  Stir as the wine cooks off.  Add the bouillon cube.  Add boiling water 1/2 c at a time.  Stir the risotto.  When the water is nearly evaporated, add another 1/2 c (or so).  Watch the temperature, you may fluctuate between medium and medium-high heat (especially if your stove top is prone to wild fluctuations like mine).  Continue adding water until you taste the rice and it is tender.  Add the parmesan, check your seasoning, and serve immediately.

What happened to the mushrooms you ask?  Well, Mrs416expat isn’t a great lover of mushrooms, so I rehydrated them, used a bit of the leftover liquid in the stock, and added the mushrooms at the end.  Mr416expat didn’t seem to mind.

Leave a Reply

