Mum’s Five Star Peach Pie

This past week was a busy one.  Both Mr. 416expat and I had work do’s to attend, our small group to host, and some very exciting visitors from Canada.  It was a busy week but on Tuesday night there were still peaches on the counter, leftovers from the market on Saturday.  There’s only one recipe I turn to in this situation.  My mum’s five-star peach pie is always top of mind.  I don’t know where it originated, but it’s one of the first recipes I copied into my recipe book when I moved out.  It’s the kind of dish I have a hard time saying no to seconds when it’s hot from the oven, and, if it’s around long enough, it tastes great fresh from the fridge the next day.

Peaches ready to go

Mixing in the butter...I soon switched to my pastry cutter

Crust ready for the oven

 

Topping coming together

Another "Shoot I forgot to take a picture before I put it in the oven" moment

The final product...also - this recipe works with a combo of raspberries and peaches..or blueberries...

Look at those flecks of vanilla-y goodness

Mum’s Five Star Peach Pie – My mum’s recipe box

2 c all purpose flour (you can do half all purpose and half whole wheat if you’re feeling heathy)
2/3 c sugar
1/2 tsp salt
3/4 c butter

Combine the flour, sugar, and salt.  Cut the butter into the dry ingredients.  If you’ve got a food processor, pulse it all together until coarse.  Press the crust into a 9×13″ pan and bake at 350 for 15 minutes or until light brown.

2 beaten eggs
1/2 tsp almond essence – OR – seeds from 1 vanilla bean OR 1 tsp vanilla
1 c sugar
1/4 c all purpose flour
3/4 tsp baking powder
4-5 c sliced peaches (skin removed)
3/4 c chopped nuts

Beat together the eggs, almond essence, and sugar.  Combine with the flour, baking powder.  Stir in the sliced peaches and chopped nuts.  Pour the fruit filling over the crust, bake for 30-45 minutes at 350.

To remove skin from the peaches

Bring a sauce pan of water to the boil (enough water to cover the peaches).  Cut a small x in the bottom of the peach.  Place the peach in the boiling water for 30 seconds. Remove and place in cold water.  The skin should easily slide off.  This technique works for removing tomato skins too.

2 thoughts on “Mum’s Five Star Peach Pie

  1. 5 Star Peach Pie comes from the cookbook “Food that Really Schmecks” by Edna Staebler

    Next sister to Mrs 416 expat just made it with fresh peaches and blueberrries and we gobbled it up in one day! Yum

  2. About 35 years ago I found this recipe in a cookbook in a bookstore in Collingwood, Ontario. I couldn’t afford the book so I memorized the recipe but never wrote it down. I know this is the one because it contains the words “Five Star”. My husband eagerly awaits peach season because this recipe is only deserving of peaches that are at their peak. BTW I have successfully used this recipe with plums, strawberries, raspberries and blueberries.

Leave a Reply

