Best Muffins Ever

There are no pictures, only words to describe these muffins.  I first made these muffins with my dear friend Daniella.  Daniella brought this recipe out when we were planning our first ski trip together.  I think she figured we’d need food on the long drive to Vermont and when skiing brilliantly down the slopes.  She was right.  As she introduced me to this recipe, they are therefore known as, Daniella Muffins. They are healthy (I can only assume), they are delicious (I can attest), and they pack well (have survived in my ski jacket many times).

These muffins are my go-to bring along when I visit new mums.  I can only assume the madness that is being a new mum.  The sleep deprivation would affect my ability to make proper meals.  These muffins though?  Once made and given to a new mum, these muffins require only one hand to eat, have lots of fiber and fill you up goodness, AND have a bit of chocolate. Seriously, what more could you need?

Kitchen Sink Muffins (AKA Daniella Muffins) – Adapted from Daniella’s recipe

2 c whole wheat flour
1 1/2 c sugar (I use a combo of brown and white sugar)
2 tsp baking soda
2 tsp cinnamon
1/2 tsp salt
2 carrots, peeled and grated
1/2 c raisins (cranberries are also nice here)
1/2 c chopped nuts
1/2 c coconut
1 apple, peeled and grated
3/4 c unsweetened apple sauce
2 tbsp oil
3 eggs
2 tsp vanilla
2 squares bitter sweet chocolate chopped OR pulverized in your food processor.

Combine the flour, sugar, baking soda, cinnamon, salt, carrots, raisins, chopped nuts, coconut, chocolate, and apple by stirring together.  Combine the apple sauce, oil, eggs, and vanilla then add to the other mostly dry ingredients.  Stir to combine.  Bake in an oven pre-heated to 350 degrees for 20-25 minutes.  Enjoy (or take to your new mummy friends for them to enjoy!)!!

***I used my food processor  (when I had one in Canada) to grate the apples and carrots and also to pulverize the chocolate***


					
3 thoughts on “Best Muffins Ever

    • I don’t think the ones I dropped off with you had zucchini in them. I would probably remove the seeds, shred it up and add no more than 3/4 of a cup of zucchini. It’s quite moist so you might find the muffins take longer to cook or are just a lot more moist!

Leave a Reply

