The Best Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookies Going

I would really like to post pictures of these cookies.  Unfortunately they were eaten before a picture could be taken.  I don’t know how it happened.  All I can say is that these cookies are just that good.  You’ll have to make them yourself to see what they look like.  I can give you a clue, they look delicious.

I love chocolate chip cookies, but I don’t like them crispy, I like them soft and chewy.  Anna Olson has perfected this concept.  Her recipe for a soft and chewy chocolate chip cookie has the texture spot on.  While I love what she’s done to the texture of the chocolate chip cookie, I like a bit more spunk in my cookie, a bit more flavour.

Regarding the chocolate.  I can’t get chocolate chips in London (for a decent price) and have discovered instead, bars of chocolate.  I buy them when they’re on sale, and chop them up as I need them.  They make for some funky shapes in the cookies and melt beautifully!  Give it a try and let me know what you think!  You can buy a better quality of chocolate in bars than you can get in chocolate chips.

Soft and Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookies (with spunk) – based on Anna Olson’s recipe from “Sugar”

3/4 c unsalted butter, room temperature
1 c brown sugar (the darker the better)
1/4 c white sugar
1 egg
2 tsp vanilla extract – it’s ok to be heavy handed here
2 c all purpose flour
2 tsp cornstarch – this is the key ingredient to the soft and chewy texture!!!
1 tsp baking soda
1/2 salt
1 tsp cinnamon
1/2 c raisons
1/2 c rolled oats
8 oz bittersweet chocolate, chopped into chunks

Preheat your oven to 350F.  Combine the butter and sugars in a mixer until light and fluffy.  Add the egg and vanilla extract and blend.  Stir in the flour, cornstarch, baking soda, salt and cinnamon.  Stir in the raisons, rolled oats, and chocolate chunks.  Drop tablespoon sized cookies onto a baking sheet and bake for 8-10 minutes.  Let cook (if you can) on a wire rack.

Leave a Reply

