My Favourite Pancakes

Alright.  You might get upset with me for this.  I’m just going to say it.  I hate pancake mix.  I think it’s silly and I don’t have a place for it in my life.  I love making pancakes.  I make them nearly every weekend.  I make apple pancakes, blueberry pancakes, plain ones and chocolate ones.  But I don’t use a mix.  Even when camping or going to the cottage I don’t see the point of a mix.  I can prepare all the ingredients ahead of time anyway.  What does pancake mix offer me that I don’t have?

As such, I would like to share my pancake recipe with you.  It’s not fancy.  It’s not mind blowing.  It’s my pancake recipe and I love it.  I don’t know where I got it, but have it written in my recipe book (this is a book I write recipes in, nothing more).  I love it and that’s all there is to it.

I would like to thank Mr 416expat’s parents for bringing us maple syrup.  They have allowed us to continue our pancake tradition without bankrupting ourselves buying syrup at Waitrose.  The Brits aren’t so fussy on maple syrup.

I'll have to explain the wonky apple slices won't I

I'll have to explain the wonky apple slices won't I

that is a thing of pancake beauty

At this point I would normally post more pictures, but the thing is, we ate the pancakes right away.  There was not time.  Therefore there are no more pictures.  Sorry about that!

About the apple slices.  I thought I would use my trust mandoline again but it turned out that my apples were too fat and wouldn’t make the nice pretty slices I thought they would.  Instead I ended up with pac man shaped apple slices. No matter – they still tasted fabulous!

Pancakes

1 c flour – this can be any combination of all purpose, whole wheat etc
2 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp salt – I usually just shake the salt shaker over the bowl and hope for the best
1 egg
1 c milk
1tsp oil

Add the dry ingredients to a bowl (that would be flour, baking powder and salt).  Beat the egg and combine it with the milk and oil.  Add the wet to the dry and stir till combined.  Sometimes it’s a bit thin, just let it stand for a minute and it will thicken up.  Heat a fry pan, add a little knob of butter.  Add the batter to the pan – small circles or one big one in the middle, it’s up to you.  Flip the pancake when (1) there are bubbles popping throughout the pancake AND (2) it looks kind of dry around the edges.  Finish cooking the second side (will be faster than the first) and serve.

If you want to take the mix camping/to the cottage etc:

Combine your dry ingredients (flour, baking powder, salt) in a ziplock bag (or other fancy camping contraptions)

Omit the oil

Bring an egg and milk (you can use dried and rehydrate if you’re all that hardcore – I’m not – I usually just wrap up the egg (or pre-crack it) and bring the milk in a nalgene)

You can mix it all up in the nalgene (add the dry to the wet and shake)

5 thoughts on “My Favourite Pancakes

    • I’ll totally have to try that Steph! I love peanut butter but hadn’t thought of adding it to my pancakes! Sounds delicious!

Leave a Reply

