Chicken and Biscuits

I love the day after a big holiday.  The kitchen is put back together (thank-you Mr 416expat) and there are a ton of leftovers in the fridge.  There’s stock to be made, there are hot chicken and gravy sandwiches, there are a lot of awesome food opportunities!

Often I look to other kitchen blogs or epicurious for recipes, neglecting the stack of cookbooks I have accumulated. This time I pulled out my Jamie Oliver cookbooks (I have many – it’s a bit of an addiction) in search of a good chicken pot pie recipe.  Jamie’s Dinners, one of my favourites, has a recipe for “The Best Chicken and Sweet Leek Pie with Flaky Pastry,” and that’s where I started, but not where I ended up.

I like making pastry.  I took a basic course at George Brown in Toronto and since then, have enjoyed the process even more.  I still find that though, that its a bit of a counter commitment, and when I have several projects on the go, there isn’t always the necessary counter space.

At this point, the base for chicken pot pie was simmering on the stove.  One line in Jamie’s recipe made the difference.  “At this point you can let it (the base) cool and keep it in the fridge for a couple of days if you want to – it can also be eaten as a stew.”  Perfect!  Instead of chicken pot pie, I’ve made chicken stew!  But I wanted more – I still wanted something to soak up the sauce (which was making my apartment flat smell amazing!).  Clearly the answer was biscuits.  But could they be baked with the stew?  On top of the stew?  See for yourself

Chicken and Leek stew with Flaky Cheese Biscuits – adapted from Jamie Oliver’s cookbook Jamie’s Dinners

olive oil
butter
cooked chicken leftovers (or one of those already cooked chickens from the grocery store, meat shredded)
2 leeks – washed, sliced into 1/2″ pieces
2 carrots – sliced
2 celery ribs
thyme
2 tbsp flour
1 glass of wine
1 c milk
salt and pepper

Add a splash of olive oil and a pat of butter to a medium to large sauce pan heated on medium.  Add the leeks, briefly sauteing, then add the chicken, carrots, celery, and thyme cooking slowly on medium-low for 15 minutes.  Turning the heat up, add the flour and stir to spread the flour throughout the chicken and vegetables.  After a few minutes, add the wine and milk.  Season with some salt and pepper, turn the heat down to low, and allow to simmer for a bit.  Stir every so often so it doesn’t stick to the bottom of the pot.  At this point, I added gravy – it was leftover and all my chicken was in the pot, so it’s not as though I’d be eating hot chicken sandwiches this time.  When the stew has thickened and is warmed through, take it off the heat.  Voila – chicken stew.

Put the stew into a pie plate or casserole dish.  Make up the cheese biscuits described last week and instead of rolling out the dough, plop it on top of the stew in spoonfuls.  Toss the whole thing in the oven pre-heated to 450 for 10 minutes and enjoy!

leeks sauteing in butter and olive oil

 

chicken, carrots, leeks, celery, and thyme mixing it up together

 

flour and liquids added... now to simmer and thicken

 

Ok, here is where I should have a picture of the biscuits, in their yet to be cooked state.  Truth is, I got really excited and put it in the oven before taking a picture.  I’m sorry.  Here’s the finished product though…does that make things right between us?

this turned out really well...the cheese, well it just melted into crispy goodness

The biscuits turned out really well.  Really really well.  They were light and fluffy and really great with the stew. Please make this recipe.  I hope it works as well for you as it did for me.  I will be eating the leftovers for lunch.  And possibly for dinner again.  It’s that good.

Leave a Reply

