Brussel Sprouts

I hear you groaning.  Stop groaning!  Brussel sprouts can be tasty.  Really really tasty!  Growing up brussel sprouts made an appearance on family holidays like Thanksgiving.  They were boiled and served.  They tasted…well, I didn’t ask for seconds.  (Sorry mum, but you know it’s true!)

A few years ago I stumbled upon another method for preparing brussel sprouts.  It changed my life.  At the very least, it changed my opinion of brussel sprouts.  As in, now I eat them.  A lot.  Because they taste awesome.

Who knew all it took was a little olive oil, salt and pepper, and time under the broiler.

Brussel Sprouts

brussel sprouts
olive oil
salt
pepper

Cut off the ends of your brussel sprouts and remove a layer of leaves.  Cut the brussel sprouts in half or quarters and put them in a mixing bowl adding a splash or two of olive oil and tossing the sprouts to lightly coat.  Add salt and pepper tossing again to coat.  Turn on your broiler and place your oven rack about the half way point in your oven. Spread the brussel sprouts on a cookie sheet and put them under the broiler.  Keep an eye on them, moving them around about half way done.  The brussel sprouts are done when they’ve started to caramelize and are soft.  (I stick a knife in and when it goes in without much resistance I say they’re done).

 

they look nervous..cut off the dried ends and remove a layer or two of leaves

 

 

that's better, but it could still go either way..boiling or broiling, what's it going to be?

 

 

hello olive oil, salt and pepper!

 

 

spread them out on the cookie sheet - this is where the magic happens!

 

 

done!

 

In the last picture the brussel sprouts are just starting to caramelize.  I took them out of the oven because everything else was ready to eat.  Normally I would let them get a bit more caramelly – it’s up to you though!  Experiment away!

 

4 thoughts on “Brussel Sprouts

  1. I’m going to try Carolyn’s recipe and wish I could find the recipe I found once for Brussel sprouts with Scotch, now they were to die for! M

Leave a Reply

