Mum’s cheese biscuits

My mum makes the best cheese biscuits ever.  There.  I’ve said it.  I’m sure there are lots of really great cheese biscuits out there, but in my house, my mum’s are the best.  The original recipe came from the milk marketing board cookbook.  Growing up on a dairy farm I saw a lot of recipies from this book.  This one though, has followed me through university, grad school, and now, to London.  It’s simple to put together and is absolutely killer fresh from the oven.  I made them Tuesday afternoon and ate 3 4 before Mr 416expat got home from work.

 

Fresh from the oven cheese biscuit goodness

 

Mum’s Cheese Biscuits – adapted from my mum’s milk marketing board cookbook

2 cups All purpose flour
4 tsp baking powder
1 tbsp sugar (I often leave this out)
1/2 tsp red pepper flakes
1/2 c butter (unsalted is my preference)
a dash of salt (that’s two shakes of the salt shaker in my house)
3/4 c shredded cheese (I measure it after it’s shredded)
1 egg
2/3 c milk

Preheat your oven to 450 degrees.  Stir together the flour, baking powder, sugar (if using), red pepper flakes (if using) and salt.  Cut in the butter until it resembles coarse crumbs/oatmeal.  I use a pastry cutter.  You want the butter to look like oatmeal flakes, not fully combined with the flour.  Stir in the cheese.  Beat the egg and combine it with the milk.  Combine the wet and dry ingredients with a fork until just combined.  Turn out onto a floured surface.  Roll the dough out to 1/2 inch thickness and cut into shapes with a cookie cutter.  I use a glass because I’m short on cookie cutters.  It works just fine.  Put the biscuits on a cookie sheet and bake for 8-10 minutes.

These biscuits are really really good hot out of the oven.  Serve them with a little butter and maybe some of the soup from yesterday.   Have you ever noticed how soup flavours get better when they sit?  I bet that minestrone from yesterday is even better today.

Thanks mum!  Your biscuits are still the best!


5 thoughts on “Mum’s cheese biscuits

  1. Wow! Awesome photos from the London Eye. I’m so impressed with your photos. Hey did you know you can google expat 416 and find the blog? So cool! Mum/Mom

    • Who is this Carolyn person you’ve signed in as? She is not my mum!!

      We’ve really had fun going around the city with Mr 416expat’s parents. It’s neat to see the city through the eyes of people who’ve never seen the city

      Miss you too!

Leave a Reply

