My absolute favourite Fall cookies

I may not be the most organized kitchen person.  Case in point, the gingersnap recipe disaster (or near disaster).  This is my favourite of all Fall cookie recipies.  I found it two years ago on thekitchn and have made it many many times.  It has found its way into Christmas gifts, Christmas parties, work parties and is a personal favourite when accompanied by a cup of tea and a good book.  One would think such an important recipe would be tucked safely into a recipe box or some other sort of fabulous system.  Imagine my distress when, upon looking for this recipe in my bookmarks on the laptop, it was nowhere to be found.  We reformatted our laptop this Summer, and with that, went all my recipes and bookmarks.

I searched high and low.  The one knock I have against thekitchn’s website would be that their search function stinks.  After combing through the search function results using a variety of search terms I was convinced this recipe was lost for good.  Then, I turned to gmail.  Who was I kidding, I should have gone here first.  After typing ginger into the search bar the second email found contained the recipe.  Turns out I liked this recipe so much that I emailed it to another cooking friend.  Fabulous.

And so it is never lost again I will share it with you!  If I ever come chasing you down looking for a soft gingersnap cookie, gently direct me back here.  This is what I’m looking for.

My Favouritest Gingersnap Cookies – adapted from “takeitandlikeit

3/4 c butter
1 c brown sugar
1 egg
1/4 c molasses – apparently they don’t have molasses at waitrose and sainsbury – I used a really dark brown sugar instead, and cut back on the sugar earlier put in the recipe.  If you’re in Canada though, Molasses shouldn’t be an issue
2 tsp baking soda
1 tsp cinnamon
1 tsp ginger
1/2 tsp cloves (ground)
1/4 tsp salt
2 1/4 c flour
sugar to coat

Beat the butter until light, adding the sugar, egg, and molasses and combining until well mixed.  Add the baking soda, cinnamon, ginger, cloves, salt and flour, stirring until combined.  Put in the fridge to chill for 30-60 minutes.  This makes it easier to form the cookies.

Once the dough is chilled, shape the dough into 3/4″ balls, roll them in sugar and place them on cookie sheets.  Bake the cookies for 8-10 minutes at 350F/180C.  They might look a little underdone, allow them to cool on the pan for ~3-5 minutes then remove to a wire rack to finish cooking.

butter - all good things start with butter

also, can we say "Welcome back" to my kitchenaid? It's back in the game courtesy of a voltage converter and adaptor plug. I love my kitchenaid

these guys got a little overdone - still figuring out convection oven with the Fahrenheit to Celcius changes

Enjoy them with a cup of tea and a good book!

One thought on “My absolute favourite Fall cookies

Leave a Reply

