Cassoulet – a one dish wonder

Today has been grey.  The bbc weather folks describe days like today as “grey cloud”.  Not partly cloudy, not overcast, but grey cloud.  Last night we turned on the heat.  The radiators are now warming our apartment nicely (and helping my laundry to dry as an added bonus).  I still felt though, that I needed a little more warmth.  Enter the Cassoulet.  A dish which originated in the South of France and typically contains some combination of meat and beans. Originally named for its cooking vessel, the cassole, Cassoulet now a days is in my eyes, a really nice casserole.  Lots of rich flavours coming together to make a stick to your ribs dish.

As an update to the original post – thekitchn has just posted an entry on cassoulet and links to its’ history in Saveur. Who knew cassoulet was so ‘happening’

This recipe comes from threemanycooks.com, and is found in the promo video for their new cookbook, Perfect One Dish Dinners.  Now I can’t speak for the cookbook, but this recipe was an absolute snap to throw together and the flavours were alright.

bringing it together

getting there...almost ready for the beans

ready for beans

and Dinner!

and Dinner!

Cassoulet – adapted from threemanycooks.com

***note – I don’t say how much of each item – more exciting that way ***

Sausages
Onions
Tomatoes – cherry or whatever you have on hand
Garlic
Olive oil
Balsamic vinegar
Basil
Bay leaves
Salt and Pepper
Beans -white – I used a canned variety

Put the sausages in a baking dish, roughly chop the onions, smash the garlic and combine them with the sausages. Add the cherry tomatoes (or whatever tomatoes you have on hand).  Add a splash or two of olive oil and balsamic vinegar, tossing to coat. Add some basil (thyme is good too, but I had basil to be used up),  bay leaves, salt and pepper.  Bake for 50 minutes at 350 then add the beans, allow it all to warm up again and serve.

We ate this with salad and crusty bread pita wedges.

4 thoughts on “Cassoulet – a one dish wonder

  1. Hey! Looks good to me 🙂 This recipe really sticks to your sides and I think the flavors go really well together. I like that you didn’t put the amounts of each ingredient. I often cook fast and loose like that – just whatever feels right. I always double the amount of garlic that a recipe calls for. Always.

    -Maggy

    p.s. I miss London!
    p.p.s. Thanks for reading!

    • Thanks Maggy! I like that when cooking you can get away without specific amounts. Each time you make the recipe, it comes out a little differently. Next time I’ll add more basil and balsamic. It came together really easily and has made for some excellent leftovers!

      I made my way to threemanycooks via Todd and Diane’s website. The video is fabulous!

Leave a Reply

