Competitive streak – baking edition

I was recently informed by Mr. 416-expat that his office was having a bake sale to raise money for a local cancer charity and that he wondered if I would make something to contribute.  Make something?  A chance to bake and experiment AND send all the results on to other people?  (Baking adventures where it’s just the two of us and one of us doesn’t like sweets are not good for the waist line)  This opportunity could not be passed up!

The results?  The petite vanilla scones were requested, made, and packed, (I sent a bunch from the last batch with Mr. 416 expat to the office) but I wanted to do something else, something uniquely Canadian.  What’s more Canadian than a maple leaf baking pan and Maple Syrup?

Carrot Cake Muffins with Maple Glaze Icing

Therefore I found a Carrot Cake recipe on Epicurious, added my own Maple glaze drizzle and baked the cake recipe up in a maple leaf pan that was given to us as a Canadian parting gift.  All tied in red ribbons (red for Canada or someone’s employer)

Have you ever noticed that muffin and cake recipies have a TON of oil in them?  Did you know you can replace SOME (not all!) of that oil with other yummy things like apple sauce?  The Carrot Cake Recipe called for 1c of canola oil.  I split the difference and used 1/2 c canola oil and 1/2 c apple sauce.

Now I couldn’t find apple sauce in the grocery store (also not yet found – chocolate chips, peanut butter, and cornmeal but that’s a story for another day).  I found something called apple sauce, but it was more mint jelly-like than apple sauce-like.  Very strange.  Instead I picked up a bag of apples, brought them home and made my own.

Apple Sauceadapted from Anna Olson’s Another Cup of Sugar

2 c apples, peeled, cored, and diced (smaller you cut them up the faster it cooks down)

2 tbsp sugar – Anna says 3 tbsp but I find that too sweet

1 1/2 tbsp butter

1 inch of ginger – I didn’t have any on hand so used a couple of pinches of ground ginger

Put all the ingredients in a pot, bring to a simmer and cook until tender.  Use a potato masher, a blender or a fork to mash it into sauce.  I used an immersion blender but just barely had enough apple sauce to blend efficiently.  My sauce ended up a bit more chunky – some would say rustic, but this isn’t that kind of a place 🙂  This makes about 1c of apple sauce.  And it’s tasty.

Maple Glaze

1 tbsp butter (I use room temperature – soft and squishy makes for easier mixing)

1/2 c icing sugar

3 tbsp maple syrup

Sift the icing sugar and combine all ingredients stirring until well mixed.  I wanted a runnier glaze, if you want something more icing like, use less maple syrup, start with 1 tbsp and go from there.

5 thoughts on “Competitive streak – baking edition

  1. Love your blog! Made the scones and took them to work and they were a hit! I think scones might be my new thing (everyones doing cupcakes now), I will let you know what different flavours I experiement with!

Leave a Reply

